Winter Cereal Trust Bursary Applications

Spread the love

About Winter Cereal Trust

The Winter Cereal Trust is divided to two separate trust, namely, the Winter Cereal General Trust and the Winter Cereal Research Trust. Both the trusts were founded in 1997, the year in which the Wheat Board, a statutory institution responsible for South Africa’s agricultural activities, was phased out. The Winter Cereal General Trust aims to provide financial support for scientific, technical and industrial research regarding winter cereals production in South Africa. The Winter Cereal Research Trust intends to directly participate to research about winter cereal for the industry interest of South Africa. Winter cereal includes wheat, barley, oats, rye, durum wheat and triticale.

Winter Cereal Trust Bursaries

The Winter Cereal Trust Bursary Scheme assist students to pursue their career in the small grains research industry. The trust, together with the bursary scheme, aims to provide research teams in the hope of increasing productivity, specifically for most small grains.

WCT intends to award ten bursaries (6 African, 2 Coloured, 1 Indian and 1 White) each year to post-graduate students for their masters or doctoral studies in a small grains related degree. Additional three bursaries ( 2 African and 1 Coloured) is to be awarded to students who are in their final year of undergraduate/honours study who plans to continue post-graduate studies relevant to small grains at least to the level of an MSc degree.

An important element of the WCT bursary is for each student to have a Mentor / CoPromotor, who possess the necessary skills as well as the proven track record in the field of small grains research. The Mentor will have to provide reports of the student’s academic progress to the WCT.

Bursary-holders will be expected to attend the annual two-day meeting of the Winter Cereal Trust Technical Committee, usually held during September in Pretoria during September. Necessary travel and accommodation expenses will be paid by the WCT.

The bursary value will be around R60505 per year for one year for an undergraduate or Honours degree, R73300 per year for two years for MSc students and R89590 per year for three years for PhD students. The bursary amount will be paid directly to the University after receipt of proof of registration.

Upon graduation, bursary holders are required to work in the Small Grains industry for a period equivalent to the bursary duration. It is the bursary holder’s responsibility to find work in the Small Grains industry, however, the student’s profile including the field of study and industry experiences will be posted on appropriate websites of organizations and institutions such as the SA Chamber of Baking, National Chamber of Milling, Grain South Africa, and SAGIS three months before the student’s studies are completed.

For more information about the Winter Cereal Trust Bursary, review the .

WCT Bursary Requirements and Eligibility

  • South African citizens
  • Students in the final year of undergraduate studies/honours degree who wish to pursue Masters and Doctoral education relevant to Small Grains Industry
  • Research topic with Mentor and Co-promotor must be approved by the Winter Cereal Trust.

How to Apply and Application Details

  1. Download and complete the . (pdf)
  2. Accompany your application with certified copies of the following required documents:
    • Academic records
    • Complete updated CV
    • Recent colored photo
    • Study proposal for a research project
  3. Submit the application form and required documents through either of the following methods:
    • Post: P O Box/Posbus 7088 CENTURION, 0046
    • Email: / /

If there is no written response to an application within 25 working days after submission, it must be accepted that the application was not successful.

Closing Date

 31 August annually 

Contact Details

Mr Ishmael Tshiame – Administrator
 082 440 0216
Tel: 012007 1200
Fax: 086617 9409

Ms Thato Kganakga- Senior Administrative Officer
 076 051 1071
Tel: 012 007 1200
Fax: 086 617 9409

Ms Sharaine Mogowe – Office Administrator
Tel: 012 007 1200
Fax: 086 617 9409

More Science Bursaries

Discover more from

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *