O.R. Tambo District Municipality Bursary Applications

Spread the love

About O.R. Tambo District Municipality

OR Tambo District Municipality is one of the seven districts of the Eastern Cape province. The district municipality is named after Oliver Tambo, a South African anti-apartheid politician. OR Tambo is formed by five local municipalities which are King Sabata Dalindyebo, Nyandeni, Mhlontlo, Port St Johns and Ingquza Hill. The municipality has cities and towns namely Flagstaff, Libode, Lusikisiki, Mqanduli, Mthatha (previously Umtata), Ngqeleni, Port St Johns, Qumbu, Tsolo. Its main sector includes community services, trade, finance, agriculture, transport, manufacturing and construction.

O.R. Tambo District Municipality Bursaries

OR Tambo District Municipality bursaries invites students enrolling for first degree or diploma for financial academic support. The bursary requires successful applicants to stay at the University residence.

People with disabilities are also encouraged to apply.

OR Tambo District Municipality Bursary Requirements and Eligibility

  • Full time South African students
  • Grade 12 students
  • Proven financial need
  • Good academic performance

How to Apply and Application Details

  1. Download and complete the . (pdf)
  2. Accompany your application with the following documents:
    • Cover letter – Letter must be written by the applicant stating the social background and academic information, parent/guardian employment status as well as source of income, reason why the applicant needs a bursary, name of local municipality, contact details and put BURSARY APPLICATION as the subject line
    • Proof of Residence – Obtain from Ward Councillor or Local Chief
    • University full admission letter – Must be from accredited institution in South Africa
    • Certified copies of ID – IDs of applicant and of parent/guardian
    • Proof of parent/guardian income
    • Certified death certificate/s in case of deceased parent/guardian
    • Grade 12 Certificate or Midterm/June results
    • Affidavit to confirm the information on the application is true
  3. Submit complete application in the contact details stated below. No faxed/emailed applications allowed

Closing Date

30 November

Contact Details

Address: Municipal Manager, O.R. Tambo District Municipality, Private Bag x 6043, Mthatha, 5099
Post: Registry Office at Magwa House, Nelson Mandela Drive, Mthatha

Discover more from Mycareers.co.za

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *